Home » Lifestyle » Navratri Festival |Nav Durga Puja | Important Hindu festivals

Navratri Festival |Nav Durga Puja | Important Hindu festivals

September 16, 2013 7:47 am Published by 4 Comments
Download PDF

This Navratri festival symbolizes nine days of worshiping . This is one of the greatest Hindu festivals celebrated with great zeal and excitement (especially Gujrat). The festival is celebrated with great reverence and faith across the country. This Navratri festival is also known as the Festival, Nav Durga. People worship Maa by using various Puja Vidhi Samagri by following all the Navratri Puja procedures. (Also Read: 5 Healthy Navratri Fasting Recipes)

Colorful celebrations, Rangoli designs, Traditional attires, various dance forms like Garba and Dandiya, delicious recipes, sweets, gifts, etc… These all looks exceptionally beautiful.


Navratri festival is the pure symbol of win (or Vijay) of good over evil. Navratri festival is celebrated twice a year. Once when the summer season just starts, that is, the first week of April. And the other one falls at the beginning of winters, that is, the first week of October. For both the times, Nav is celebrated for 9 days as the name itself says – “Nav-Ratri”. For all these 9 days, nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshipped during Navratri festival.

On the tenth day, Vijaya dashami or Dussehra is celebrated. Goddess Parvati, the divine wife of Lord Shiva (Mahadev) is said to have taken different 9 forms of goddesses. These nine forms signify various traits that the goddess influences us with.

navratri 2013

This important Hindu festival is divided into sets of three days to adore three different aspects of the supreme goddess or goddesses.

  •  First 3 days, the Goddess Durga, is also known as Goddess Kaali in order to destroy all ours, evil and grants boons is worshipped.
  • The next 3 days, the Goddess Laxmi, who is considered to have the power of bestowing on her devotees the inexhaustible wealth, is worshipped.
  • The last 3 days, the Goddess of knowledge & wisdom, Devi Saraswati is worshipped.
navratri 2013- festival of durga puja

Each one of the Nav Durga Puja is known by a particular name. These are the names of nine forms of Goddess Durga.

  1. Shailaputri
  2. Brahmacharini
  3. Chandraghanta
  4. Kushmanda
  5. Skandamata
  6. Katyayani
  7. Kaalratri
  8. Mahagauri
  9. Siddhidayini 

navdurga.. 9 forms of durga maa

Devotees worship Maa Shakti, goddess of cosmic power. Fasting and praying marks the Navratri celebrations. Devotees perform the ‘Devi-Isthapana‘ at their homes wherein they invite the Goddess Durga and perform various “Pooja-Path” and “Pooja-Archana” for nine days with fasting.  Devotees avoid meat, alcoholic drinks, grains, wheat and onion during this fast. Grains are usually avoided since it is believed that during the period of Navratri and seasonal change, grains attract and absorb lots of negative energy from the surroundings.

durga puja

Navratri festival is a festival of many vibrant colors. The culture of is shown through the beautiful outfits that are worn by both the ladies and the guys. The colors of can be seen through them. This festival is celebrated with great zeal in North ,including Bihar, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh and the northern state of Punjab. The festival of Durga Puja is also celebrated in the western states of Gujarat, Maharashtra, and Karnataka during which the traditional dance of Gujarat called “Garba” is widely performed.

garba dance on navratri

Gujarat welcomes the festival of Nav Durga Puja through music, dances and the gathering of people together. The major highlight of the nine-night Navratri festival is Garba dance involving people of all ages, especially the joyous and dance-loving women. The elaborately dressed women go round in circles, clapping and whirling in the region of an idol of the Mother Goddess. This dance is accompanied by music and singing, and all the people rhythmically gyrate the body to mark the occasion. (Also Read: Navratri Best wishes Quotes and SMS)

happy navratra

Navratri festival is also considered as an auspicious time for new ventures. We say her Mother Goddess because just as a child finds great cosmic energy in his mother, the same energy we receive by worshipping Goddess Durga.

In fact, Hinduism is the only religion in this whole world that gives so much importance to the mother aspect of God. The reason is simple – We believe that Mother is the creative aspect of the absolute.


For more festivals of India :-

Navratri Best wishes quotes – SMS, Navratri wallpapers…
Ganesh Chaturthi – The festival of Lord Ganesha
Shri Krishna Janmashtami celebrations and wallpapers…
Raksha Bandhan Wallpapers free download
Exclusive Gifts for sweet relation – Rakhi gift ideas
Tags: , , ,

Categorised in:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fourteen − 8 =